Home > News > General House: Appointments of the General Council

Wherever you go

Rule of Life of the Marist Brothers



  • News
  • 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004
  • Most popular | Statistics
  • Calendar
  • The latest news


Social networking

Marist Brothers

RSS YouTube FaceBook Twitter



Calls of the XXII General Chapter


Archive of updates


Marist Calendar

3 August

Marist Calendar - August

General Administration



Appointments of the General Council

20/07/2016: General House

The General Council has appointed Br. Carlos Alberto Rojas (Norandina) as the Director of the Secretariat for Mission and Br. Mark Omede (Nigeria) as the Assistant Director of the same Secretariat. Both will take up their new responsibilities as from January 1st 2017.

Br. Tony Leon (Australia) has been appointed for a second three-year term as Director of the Brothers Today Secretariat, as from January 1st 2017. Likewise, Br. Colin Chalmers (West Central Europe), as Director of the Archive for a second three-year term as from 1st January 2017.

As regards the Secretariat of Laity, the mandate of Br. Javier Espinosa (America Central) as Director has been extended until December 2017. Mr. Pep Buetas (L’Hermitage) has been appointed Co-Director for a further three-year term, and Ms. Kate Fogarty (Australia) as Co-Director for a first three-year term. In the extended Secretariat for Laity, Br. Sylvain Ramandimbiarisoa (Madagascar) has been given a one-year extension until April 30th 2017.

Br. Álvaro Sepúlveda (Santa Maria de los Andes), who participated in the first Lavalla 200 formation group, has been appointed as part of the FMSI team in the General Administration, as from September 1st 2016.

Br. Afonso Levis (Brasil Centro Sul) has been appointed as Assistant Director of the Spanish and Portuguese language Third Age formation programmes, starting from the programme beginning in 2017.

The General Council has set up a Communications Committee, comprising the three current members of the Communications Office (Luiz da Rosa, Estefanía Aguirre and Br. Antonio Ramalho), José María Martín (Spanish Marist Conference) and Br. Paulo Martins (Brasil Centro Norte).

3992 visits