Home > News > General House: The Preparatory Commission of the Chapter concludes its mission

Wherever you go

Rule of Life of the Marist Brothers



  • News
  • 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004
  • Most popular | Statistics
  • Calendar
  • The latest news


Social networking

Marist Brothers

RSS YouTube FaceBook Twitter



Calls of the XXII General Chapter


Archive of updates


Marist Calendar

21 October

Saint Viator

Marist Calendar - October

The Provisional Committee begins work



The Preparatory Commission of the Chapter concludes its mission

03/09/2009: General House

The Chapter Preparatory Commission has completed its operations and has passed the baton to the Provisional Committee, as determined by the Chapter Statutes. The change of responsibilities shows that we are on the threshold of the Chapter. The constitution and responsibilities of the Provisional Committee are defined in statutes 27 and 28, whose text reads: “Once the names of the Capitulants are known, the Brother Superior General with his Council will appoint the members of the Provisional Committee before the opening of the Chapter (cf C 137.4.9).
He convokes this Provisional Committee some days before the opening date in order to establish the program for the first few days of the Chapter.
Once the Chapter opens, the Order of the Day will always be approved by the Assembly.”(27).
“It is the function of the Provisional Committee to organise a suitable ceremony for the opening of the General Chapter.” (28).

The Provisional Committee of the Chapter is composed of Brothers Maurice Berquet (L’Hermitage) Co-ordinator, Josep Maria Soteras (L’Hermitage) Secretary, Graham Neist (Sydney), João Carlos do Prado (Brasil Centro-Sul), Emili Turú (L’Hermitage), Manuel de León (East Asia), Yao Kouassi Kan Sylvain (West Africa) and Ben Consigli (United States of America). All are members fo the Chapter.
This organization begins functioning on 2 September and will finish when the Chapter names the Central Commission, which assumes responsibility for directing the work of the Chapter assembly.

The Preparatory Commission was composed of Brothers Seán Sammon, Superior General, Luis García Sobrado, Vicar General, Maurice Berquet, Councillor General, Albert Nzabonaliba (Centre-East Africa), Carlos Vélez (Central America), Graham Neist (Sydney), João Carlos do Prado (Brasil Centro-Sul), Josep Maria Soteras (L’Hermitage), Lindley Sionosa (East Asia) and Teodoro Grageda (Afrique Center-Est), who acted as Commission Secretary.

3888 visits